, , ,

On Friday October 7th, the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to three women promoting peace, democracy and gender equality  in Africa and the Middle East. The recipients were the first woman President (of Liberia) in modern Africa, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, as well as peace activist Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkol Karman who is a activist for democracy in Yemen.

Over the last 110 years, most Nobel Peace Prize recipients have been men. There has only been one prior female Peace Prize recipient,  Wangari Maathai of Kenya, in 2004. The New York Times reports that Friday’s decision “seemed designed to give impetus to the fight for women’s rights around the world.” and that makes us pretty happy!

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society,” said the head of the Nobel committee who later added that the prize is, “a very important signal to women all over the world.”

This is a big victory for women and we are very proud. Read more at the New York Times.